Morris & Johnson named to Maxwell List

Posted Jul 8, 2013

Senior quarterback Stephen Morris and sophomore running back Duke Johnson were both named to the Maxwell Award Watch List on Monday.

Stephen Morris and Duke Johnson are widely considered Miami's two best offensive skill position players. It's no surprise that the two were included on the list for this award, which is given annually to college football's Player of the Year.

Vinny Testaverde (1986), Gino Torretta (1991), and Ken Dorsey (2001) have all won the award in the past.

Morris is coming off a tremendous junior season in which he threw for 3,345 yards and 21 touchdowns. He had one of the most prolific seasons of any quarterback in school history.

Johnson was a five-star recruit from a local high school, and made a big impact in his first year. He broke Clinton Portis' freshman rushing record with 947 yards.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 29, while the three finalists will be unveiled Nov. 18. The 2013 Maxwell Award winner will be announced Dec. 12 as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show.

Related Stories
Morris Named to O’Brien Award Watch List
 -by  Jul 17, 2013
Morris recaps first scrimmage
 -by  Aug 13, 2013
Q&A with Stephen Morris
 -by  Sep 5, 2013

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
QB Stephen Morris (profile)
[View My HotList]
Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > Monsignor Pace HS > Alumni
[View My HotList]