UM Welcomes Newcomers

Larry Coker

The 2004 University of Miami football team - and its highly touted class of recruits - was officially greeted by head coach Larry Coker today. The newcomers reported beginning at 9 a.m. and were fitted for equipment and checked in to their dormitories. The remainder of the team reported for fall practice later in the day.

"We can't bring in the freshman early anymore, so everyone comes in at the same time. But today we focus on the freshmen," said Coker. "They get moved in and then have lunch with President (Donna) Shalala on their first day. It's kind of a special time for them, but it's also a huge transition for them to be away from home. And tomorrow practice starts."

A total of 19 players who signed with the Hurricanes in February reported in the morning and will spend much of this week going through student-athlete orientation. Practices for the entire team begin at 3:30 p.m. Tuesday at the Greentree Practice Fields on the UM campus. All practices are open to the public from Tuesday through Friday, Aug. 20.

Football Media Day will be held Friday. Miami begins the 2004 football season on Labor Day night Sept. 6 vs. Florida State at the Orange Bowl in front of a nationally televised audience.

The following 19 newcomers reported today:
Name	         Pos      Ht.	Wt.	Hometown
Rhyan Anderson	DL	6-6	245	Oak Creek, Wis.
Carlos Armour	DB	6-3	200	Memphis, Tenn.
James Bryant	LB	6-3	240	Reading, Pa.
Tyrone Byrd	OL	6-6	260	Sugar Land, Texas
Calais Campbell	TE	6-7	230	Denver, Colo.
Romeo Davis	LB	6-3	215	Miami
Dwayne Hendricks	DL	6-4	246	Millville, NJ
Andrew Johnson	RB	6-0	205	Pittsburgh, Pa.
Charlie Jones	RB	5-11	200	Homestead, Fla.
Khalil Jones	WR	6-3	206	Miami
Rashaun Jones	DB	6-2	185	Lake City, Fla.
Lance Leggett	WR	6-4	178	Arlington, Texas
Lovon Ponder	DB	6-1	190	Miami
Anthony Reddick	DB	6-1	190	Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
Chris Rutledge	OL	6-6	270	Miami
Derron Thomas	RB	6-0	185	Reserve, La.
George Timmons	DB	6-2	190	Lake City, Fla.
Willie Williams	LB	6-2	225	Miami
Chris Zellner	DL	6-2	225	Sarasota, Fla.
AUGUST PRACTICE SCHEDULE

Open to the public and media

Tuesday, August 10 Practice at 3:30 p.m.
Wednesday, August 11 Practice at 3:30 p.m.
Thursday, August 12 Practice at 3:30 p.m.
Friday, August 13 Media Day from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon; practice at 3:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 14 Practice at 3:30 p.m. (first practice in full pads)
Sunday, August 15 Practice at 3:30 p.m.
Monday, August 16 Practices at 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m.
Tuesday, August 17 Practice at 3:30 p.m. Wednesday, August 18 Practices at 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. Thursday, August 19 Practice at 3:30 p.m. Friday, August 20 Practices at 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m.

Closed to the public - media only (first 30 minutes and last 15 minutes)

Saturday, August 21 Practice at 3:30 p.m.
Sunday, August 22 No practice
Monday, August 23 Practices at 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m.
Tuesday, August 24 Practice at 8:30 a.m.
Wednesday, August 25 First day of classes, players off
Thursday, August 26 Practice at 3:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 28 Practice at 8:30 a.m.
Sunday, August 29 Practice at 3:30 p.m.
Monday, August 30 Practice at 3:30 p.m.
Tuesday, August 31 Practice at 3:30 p.m.

The August 27 practice at the Orange Bowl is closed to the media.

CanesTime.com Recommended Stories


Up Next


Tweets